Brookside Gardens: Garden of Lights

On Thursday, December 3, 2015 I went to Brookside Gardens’ Garden of Lights display to enjoy the gardens and dazzling colorful lights that are on display this time of year. This is the first time I have been back to the garden of lights display in ages and since I’ve had my latest camera, a Canon Rebel T3i. I was amazed by how easy it was and how spectacular my photographs turned out. Here are the settings and how I was photographing the light display.

1. I was not using a tripod, but in low light level situations it is always a good idea to do so. I was not doing so because mine is currently out of commission (on my list for Santa). In order to compensate for this I bumped up my ISO to the max it would go, which was 6400.

IMG_5434

2. I was shooting in manual mode because I wanted to be sure that I was in charge of all of the settings. IMG_5463

3. I had my white balance mode set to tungsten and I think that worked out well, as the lights didn’t have a yellowish or greenish tinge to them. IMG_5477

4. Finally, just have fun. For a few of my pictures I decided to go for the abstract and draw circles with my camera while I was taking the shot. IMG_5473

Hope these tips help. Happy shooting! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

